So…now what?!

The Foot Traffic Flat Half was my target race this year. But there are six months left this year. And if you’ve been with me for any significant amount of time you know I like to plan WAY ahead…like two years.

The rest of 2014, all of 2015 and even part of 2016 have tentatively been planned for about six months now. I teased earlier this year about THE ANNOUNCEMENT and when I would share. To be honest, I thought I would post this months ago but never got around to it.  So what is it? I’m going to make another attempt at Boston. Yeah, I know, people try to qualify, and succeed, for Boston every year, big deal. You’re right, not a big deal. But for me it is. I like history in sports and respect that history. The only marathon that matters to me is Boston. Qualifying for Boston would supersede any race or PR I have ever achieved. I’ve told people that just qualifying would satisfy me. If I ever get the chance to actually run Boston I wouldn’t care one bit what my time was. I will want to enjoy every step of the race and take in every ounce of history that course has.

So what’s my plan? Miles…lots and lots of miles. This week started my first marathon training block. I told a running friend, Professor Badass, this was my first block and she responded “You’re training for a marathon but not actually running one?!”. Yep…for now. This training block will take me through the beginning of December. This will hopefully allow me to get in good shape for the RW Festival hat trick and also maybe attempt a half marathon PR at Rock n Roll San Antonio.

After that I will hopefully need to adjust my training plan because I’m in better shape. This will begin my second training block. This will take me up to the inaugural running of the Blooms to Brews Marathon in April. This is an extremely flat, beautiful course. Only downside is that it is small and out in the middle of nowhere. I’m planning this to be more of a test marathon, but if all goes well who knows what might happen.

Assuming I don’t BQ at Blooms to Brews, this will take me to my third training block. I haven’t fully committed to a specific target race for Boston, but right now I’m leaning towards the Eugene Marathon in July. This is a PR friendly course that has that bigger race atmosphere feel to it. Plus it finishes on Hayward Field at the University of Oregon…home of Steve Prefontaine. After that the plan is Boston in 2016.

So there’s the plan. Run lots of miles. Lose this God forsaken weight. But most importantly stay healthy…mentally as well as physically. If I get hurt or lose myself along the way this will all mean nothing.

Hope you guys come along for the ride!

Happy Running
Lonnie

3 thoughts on “So…now what?!

  1. Good luck with your endeavor. Qualifying for Boston is a huge deal! Don’t ever let anyone tell you differently. I’m over an hour over Boston qualifying time. If I ever qualify, you can bet I’m going!

  2. Admirable goal! I want to qualify for Boston myself… right now I am so far off I am not sure how to go about trying for it. I also know that now (and the next two years most likely) is not the time to try all-out marathon training… so I’m thinking about what I can do in those years to get myself ready for that kind of training. Work on my half marathons I think.

    Good luck, and looking forward to following your process.

Leave a Reply

