Are You Boring Enough?

We all have goals for our running. Whether it is getting a new time/distance PR, completing a race for the first time or simply just staying healthy; we are all chasing something that makes us get out and run. We hear it all the time…how bad do you want it? Truth be told, we all want it bad enough. We wake up each day wanting what ever it is just as bad as we did the day before. I don’t think that is the issue. The problem comes from us not being willing to do the little things each and every day that are a necessity for us to achieve our individual goal.

For the most part, runners have no issue dragging their butt out for their daily runs. We’re runners, running is what we do. Where we come up short is the other things we need to be doing every day to ensure we can drag our butts out there. Foam rolling, cold soaks, stretching, strength training…all of these are a just as vital to our training (if not more so) than the miles we log on our feet. But if you’re like me, you come up with a hundred different excuses to not do them each day. My biggest cop out lately is I’m tired. I am tired…extremely tired most days…but that isn’t a good enough excuse to not spend 30 minutes each day doing a few little things that will help me get out the door in the morning.

If you’re anything like me you also find these activities boring. I don’t mean boring, I mean B…O…R…I…N…G!!! I really do not look forward to doing any of my “homework” that I know I should be doing and that I know will help me feel better. Which begs the question, how bad do I really want it? You have to want it bad enough to do the boring, mundane things you hate doing but know you should.

2013-want-vs-will

Go be boring!

Happy Running
Lonnie

4 thoughts on “Are You Boring Enough?

  1. Oh, totally. That’s why I’ve liked some of the different challenges thrown out online. One challenge last year got me doing strength work on a regular basis. And now there’s one that’s making me think about how to fit in 5 minutes of recovery work on a daily basis. I always stretch after my runs but didn’t often do the other stuff – now I am. 5 minutes isn’t much but it’s more than I was doing!

Leave a Reply

