Give My Regards to Broad Street

I spent the first weekend in May in Philadelphia attending the Broad Street 10 Miler as well as taking in the sites and meeting new friends. I love to travel, especially to the East Coast. So much history back there. So when Andy from Running My Ass Off asked me to run with his team it was a no brainer. Speaking of Andy, say hi Andy…

Andy Aubin

On Friday, since it was the first time getting to meet Andy, the day was spent spending time together and getting to know each other a little more. Of course, the first thing we needed to do was go for a run.

Andy and Lonnie Run

After getting settled and cleaned up we went took in the Phillies vs Nationals game.

Phillies vs Nationals

For several months Andy had been preaching to me and anyone that would listen about the virtues of The Schmitter.

Schmitter

This is probably the best sandwich on the face of the Earth…when you’re drunk. Greasy, decent size and lots of bread. But when sober it’s meh. Was really disappointed in the flavor…there really wasn’t any. No offense Philly nation.

I had planned to get to bed at a decent hour Friday. I had traveled over night on Thursday and wanted to take advantage of the night before the night before night of sleep. I also wanted to get up at a decent hour Saturday to get in a run. But, since I’m a Blazer fan and they were playing Houston in game 6, I stayed up a little later than planned. If I hadn’t, I would have missed this…

Damian Lilliard

On Saturday, Andy had some family things to attend to, so when I finally dragged my ass out of bed I found my way to the treadmill at the hotel and put in six very hot, sweaty miles. Then the real fun began. We were meeting up with our teammates for lunch at Reading Market. This place was AWESOME!! All different kinds of food from so many different cultures. It’s obviously a popular place as it was packed shoulder to shoulder. But it paled in comparison to these awesome people!

Team Low and Slow

Then I had to take advantage of the opportunity to eat some of the local fare…

Reading Market

Philly Goodies

Once we were done eating we found out way to the expo for the race. Maybe it’s me, but I’m always expecting so much more from race expos than what I end up seeing. This expo was nice but like usual, I felt like something was missing. It did give me a chance to do a little shopping. Any booth that had something that caught my eye (neon) I stopped to look. At one point one of the guys said “It’s like a moth to a flame!”

Broad Street Expo Shopping

After the expo a handful of us decided to do a little site seeing and find a place to “hydrate”.

Philly Church

Philly Museum

Rocky Statue

Philly Statue

Then we got this great picture at the Love statue.  This was quite a humorous moment as I had to take the picture twice and had to have help the second time.  I obviously suck at taking selfies.

Sub 30 Love

Sunday. Race day! Now, I may or may not have had one or five too many drinks the night before. And the lack of sleep was catching up to me. I made the decision to run with my friends rather than trying to “race” the race. Best decision I made all weekend. I had such a great time running, talking and taking in the sites. Here are some pics we got pre, mid and post race.

Broad Street Pre Race

Broad Street Mid Race

Team Low and Slow Post Race

Philly Post Race Food

Broad Street Bling

This was the most fun I’ve had during event.  Great people, great experience!  I’ve already told Andy that Mrs Team Neon and I are both in for next year. Looking forward to it for sure!

Happy Running
Lonnie

4 thoughts on “Give My Regards to Broad Street

  1. RW Festival is the only place I haven’t felt a letdown from the expo, probably because the buildings it’s in is smaller and it doesn’t feel like you’re in a partly empty cave. They also have all sorts of seminars that make for a great time. Not to mention the kid races and the awesome town of Bethlehem itself. It’s gonna be great! Not to jinx myself, but even if I got injured and couldn’t run at RWF, I would still go for the meetup and the coolness of the event.

Leave a Reply

