Runner’s World Mileage Challenge Update

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve updated everyone on my mileage challenge. For those that don’t remember, I put down a challenge to the Sub 30 running group I belong to on Facebook. For every mile they ran as a group over that weekend I would run at least that amount of miles between that weekend and the Runner’s World Festival. They stepped up in a big way and surpassed any amounts I thought they would. So much so, that the group felt a straight one to one mile was a bit too much. We agreed that any mileage that I run that has an entry fee associated with it would count double. So I’ve been plugging away each week. I’ve hit my scheduled miles each week and have even banked a few extra a few times. My body is holding up well, albeit a little tired. But the consistency has been good for me.

I’ve been trying to do a weekly update, but last week I was in Philadelphia for the Broad Street 10 Miler. I have lots of things to write about, with lots of pictures, so hoping to get a post out about the weekend experience in the next few days.

Here is the snapshot of my mileage challenge…

Lonnie's Mileage Challenge 5-11-14

I’m trying not to get hung up on the fact that my daily mileage to go number keeps increasing. I know my big mileage is still to come. We even have a mini six week challenge in the group. Many of the members are trying to get up to a sustained 25 miles per week. I wanted to support that so being the dumbass I am I volunteered to do double that. So, next week we start and I’m planning to run 50 miles. Tack on the Portland Rock n Roll and my mileage for next week for the overall challenge will be 63.1. Easy peasy!

OK, since Runner’s World said that sleep is the best recovery, I’m going to get my recovery on!

Happy Running
Lonnie

Leave a Reply

