Breaking Barriers

It seems like it was only a few weeks ago that I was struggling to finish what felt like a grueling 10 mile run. It was my first double digit run of 2014. Considering I spent most of 2013 knowing that I could run 13-15 miles any given day without thinking twice about it, I had a little trouble adjusting to working so hard. Seems as though I had forgotten how hard I worked to get to that level. That run was almost 3 months ago.

Although I’m not in true half marathon race condition yet, it’s coming. I can feel it coming. Every week I can feel myself getting stronger. I’ve been able to recover quicker from tough runs. And this has led to me being able to log more miles each week. I’m still struggling with that 40 mile barrier. But this week, for the first time in a long time, I didn’t worry about it. I know I will get over that 40 mile in a week barrier. I just need to keep focusing on my training, stay healthy and the miles will increase. Although, I’m scheduled for 37 this week and with how I’ve felt lately, I’m sure I can squeeze out a few extra miles to get there.

With my 14 mile run yesterday, I passed the 100 mile mark for the month. That’s my third month in a row eclipsing 100 miles. I’m on pace for 160 this month. My previous high month was 155 in May, 2013. And the best thing is that I feel good. Sure, I’m pretty sore this morning after logging 14.3 miles at 8:39 pace, but I feel good. Nothing hurts that isn’t expected. After I finish watching the Boston Marathon this morning I’m going to get in a recovery run. Here is a nice pic of me before my run yesterday.

Lonnie 4-20-14

Due to a programming issue, found out that the spreadsheet I was using was not tracking my racing miles accurately. So, I didn’t provide an update last week. Issue has been fixed and we are back on track.

Lonnie's Mileage Challenge 4-20-14

I’m trying not to get hung up on how many miles I have to go. I know I will really start making up ground in June. Lots of races this summer and planning to up my mileage. The key now is to focus on my training that is right in front of me and stay healthy.

Well, since it is taking me so long to write this due to watching the race and chatting online with my running buddies, I’m going to wrap this up. Lot’s of emotion today watching these incredible runners. Here’s to hoping Shalane is able to hold on and lead the whole way. Would make an incredible story!

Happy Running
#BostonStrong
Lonnie

Leave a Reply

