Homemade Protein Bar

A guy I’m running the Philadelphia Broad Street 10 Miler with shared a recipe with us and since I was in a domesticated mood today, I took a stab at it.  Turned out so good I thought I would share with everyone.

Image

 

There are about the size of a Clif Bar, or close enough for me to use the term “about”. 

Ingredients:

1.5 cups pitted dates

1 cup walnuts

2 scoops Pure Protein vanilla whey protein powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

pinch kosher salt

water as needed

When I measured the dates, I did it when they were whole.  I would recommend chopping them first to get a better measurement.  I suspect I’m closer to a cup rather than a cup and a half.  I would imagine you could get 6 bars out of this recipe instead of the 5 that I did.  Also feel free to use whatever nuts you want.  You will need to add water to get the right “gooey” texture.  It will vary batch to batch. I would add 1 tablespoon at a time.

Directions:  Dump everything in a blender and turn it on!  Yeah, that’s it!  OK, technically you have to turn off the blender and take the mixture out.  Then form into desired shapes.  I was told to put them in the fridge to firm them up.  Mine have been in there for over an hour and I don’t really see a big difference.  I would suggest storing them in an airtight container to keep them fresh.  Should easily store for at least a few days. I would think the biggest issue would be getting stale and hard more than going bad.

Nutritional Breakdown:

Calories   400
Fat  15.14g
Carbohydrate 53.17g
Fiber 2.97g
Protein 13.91g
 
There you go!  Feel free to take this and make it your own.  Incredibly quick and easy to make these.  Didn’t do the math on cost but I would guess this is easily under $1 per bar!  Compare that to $2-3 for a good bar from the store!  You control the ingredients and get the satisfaction of knowing you made it yourself!
 
Happy Running
Lonnie
Leave a Reply

