You still here?

Sunday, February 9th, 11:30 PM (for me anyway). We are getting ready to close the door on the 40th day of 2014. I have one simple question…you still here?

About 40 days ago you came up with a list of things you wanted to do this year. You may have just made mental notes about them. You might have even mentioned them to someone close to you. Hell, maybe you’re crazy and posted them all over the internet for everyone to see. All I want to know is are you still here?!

Because of our unusually white weather we are having right now, I found myself at my gym yesterday for my long run (11 miles) for the week. I normally am there pretty early in the morning and find it busy, but not too bad. I’ve gone a little later in the morning a few times and it’s been quite busy. Yesterday, I found it very NOT busy.  The droves of people who had been filling the gym the first month of the year were not there. But some of them were. And they were busting their ass right along with me. So, are you still here?

We’re all capable of making grandiose statements about what we’re going to accomplish while caught up in the excitement of the moment. But what about when that moment passes? When that excitement fades and it’s just you and that freaking alarm clock at an ungodly hour, are you still here?

Are you closer to your goals today than you were yesterday? It doesn’t matter if you went on a 20 mile run or just made the simple decision to eat a little healthier than you used to, it’s still movement in the right direction. All that matters is that at the end of the day you can honestly say I’m still here.

So, if you are still here, or even is this was just a reminder and tomorrow you are back to being here, go look at that person in the mirror and tell them I’m still here and I’m not going anywhere! Because the person you want to be is very much within your reach. Just keep being here and keep moving forward!

Happy Running
Lonnie

4 thoughts on “You still here?

Leave a Reply

