The Cheat Meal

As I blogged about recently, I’ve started a new diet (it’s a noun, not a verb!).  My eating plan is simple.  Some days it is even easy.  But it seems the part I’m having the least fun with at this point is the one part that should be the most fun.  The cheat meal.

Most days my meals look like this:

Image

 

Lots of lean protein (these are 93/7 turkey burgers), veggies and healthy fats.  I’m a creature of habit so eating like this most of the time is not a big deal to me.  I’ll add in some salsa verde or spicy pickles to kick the flavor up a little on the burgers.

Once a week, for one hour, I get to have a cheat meal.  For one hour I get to eat whatever the hell I want.  But only for that one hour.  My first thought when my trainer and I discussed this was ‘Yippee ki yay, mother…”!  Free reign to indulge to my content.  My plan is to have my cheat meal on Saturday nights.  Will give my wife and I an excuse to go out for dinner.

I’ve been doing this for 12 days now.  And except for Super Bowl Sunday, I’ve nailed every meal. I have not strayed from what I’m supposed to eat one bit  So why is it when I get to my cheat meal and eat what I’ve been thinking about for days, do I not enjoy it as much as my mind tells me I should?  Could it be because I eat all of this in less than 30 minutes:

Image

Image

Image

As you can imagine, when I’m done eating, the only thing I’m really thinking about is whether or not I’m going to puke.  What is even more sad is that this was, for the most part, exactly what I would eat the night before all of my races during most of 2013.  Carb loading at its finest.

So, why am I not enjoying this as much as I thought I would?  Probably because my body is enjoying the clean eating I’m doing the other 95% of the time.  I look and feel leaner, even if I’m not seeing it on the scale yet.  OK, technically I am.  When I started last week on Monday, I did weigh 218.  But to me, this was an inflated number after spending the weekend with family for my aunt’s funeral.  Didn’t exactly watch what I ate then.  By last Friday I was down to 210.  Today I was at 211.  But like I told my trainer today, I’m not going to worry about what the scale says for a couple more weeks.  I’m feeling good and I, along with some others who have mentioned it, can see a difference.

So, I’m going to keep doing exactly what I’m doing.  Well, not quite.  I think I’m going to change up the cheat meal a little so I don’t feel so horrible after eating it.  And definitely change up the meal.  I’ve eaten exactly the same thing for both meals.

Happy Running

Lonnie

Leave a Reply

