32 Rules for Runners in 2014

I will admit, I “borrowed” this from Orange Mud’s Facebook page.  I’m not smart enough to come up with this stuff.  If you’re not familiar with Orange Mud, definitely check them out.  They do hydration packs and other things.  I personally have not tried them out yet but I know people who have and they like them.  I definitely give them a big thumbs up on cool looks though!  And what runner wouldn’t feel bad ass getting their hydration from a “quiver”.  See, cool!

 

OK, the rules for 2014…

32 RULES RUNNERS SHOULD LIVE BY IN 2014

1) Call yourself a runner. If you run, you’re a runner. Don’t be afraid.

2) Set a bigger goal than you ever thought possible. And figure out what you need to do to get there. Then do it.

3) Change your shoes more often.

4) Eat a little cleaner, and enjoy the added energy.

5) After crossing the finish line of an upcoming race, stop to cheer on other runners and congratulate them on their accomplishments.

6) Join a running group.

7) Spend more time analyzing your training data.

8) But don’t forget that sometimes you shouldn’t record the data at all. And just run.

9) Run more hills.

10) Sign-up to volunteer at a trail race’s aid station.

11) Take a few weeks off, and use that time to try out a new sport or activity.

12) Do your strength training.

13) Thank your spectators and supporters, and treat them to a special surprise.

14) Put in the warm-up and cool-down miles.

15) Read more running books. Learn from them.

16) Find a training partner.

17) Try to set a new 5k PR, even if you’re focused on marathons or ultras.

18) Treat yourself to new socks. Maybe even ones with a little compression.

19) Foam roll more religiously.

20) Plan out your schedule now, at the beginning of the year, so you can train properly.

21) Don’t be afraid to reward yourself after tough workouts or long runs.

22) Get up and run in the morning more often.

23) Talk a non-running friend into signing up for a 5k with you. And run with them the whole race.

24) Attend a race just to cheer on runners you don’t know.

25) Stretch.

26) Return to a race you struggled with in the past.

27) Experiment with new ideas by committing to different 10-30 day challenges.

28) Start a run streak, even if it is just for one week.

29) Keep up with long runs, even if you aren’t training for any particular race.

30) Run on trails.

31) Force yourself to break out of routine and try new routes.

32) Most importantly, be proud of every run. Be proud that you are a runner.

The biggest things I need to do are volunteering at races and cheering on my fellow runners at races.  I’m horrible at it.

I would also love to have a training partner.  I’m jealous of my online friends who talk about their training runs with their friends.  Feel lucky people, going solo 95%+ of the time gets a little monotonous.

I have NO trouble setting big goals.  Some might argue I get a little carried away.  isn’t that the point?  As a friend reminded me last night…go big or go home!  If your goals don’t scare the crap out of you, you need to get bigger goals!

What rules are you good at?  Which ones do you struggle with?  Do you have oh crap goals set?

Happy Running

Lonnie

2 thoughts on “32 Rules for Runners in 2014

  1. I think I need to change shoes more. When I find a pair I like and feel comfortable in them I get real hesitant about changing. I also would like a run partner, it’s like you said you see everyone talking about theirs and you kind of would like one. I have set my biggest goal this year and I am really working hard to get it, I don’t know if I will but I will be able to say I tried. Please stop my blog as well http://runnerscommunity.blogspot.com/?m=1

    • I’m the same way with shoes. I like to stick with one “pair”, although I will have several pairs of them. Right now I’m running in Asics Nimbus 15 with three pairs in rotation. I did break down and get a pair of Hoka Conquest, which I’m also liking. With my schedule it doesn’t leave me a lot of time during the day to actually run, or to be more accurate…time where I’m willing to run. I’ve gotten invites to join group runs, just need to bite the bullet and make the time. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

