It’s a noun, not a verb!

If you’ve known me for any amount of time, you know just by the title what I’m going to talk about.  Diet!

One of my biggest pet peeves about food is the word diet.  Just drives me insane when people say they are “going on a diet”.  News flash…you are on a diet every day of your life.  Diet is the combination of foods you choose to put in your pie hole.  Thus, it’s a noun.  The act of making the decision as to what you are going to eat is the verb.  So instead of “going on a diet” you are really deciding to make better choices about your diet.

There is so much negativity associated with “going on a diet”.  To so many people it means eating minimal quantities of foods you don’t like.  Why in the world would you choose to eat like that?  You are setting yourself up for failure before you even start.  A good diet should provide you a bounty of choices of good, high quality, healthy food.  And from that list you should be able to select more than enough food options to satisfy you in both being full and giving you variety.  If it doesn’t, you’re not thinking hard enough.

Now, lucky for me, I’m a creature of habit.  I don’t have much of a problem eating the same foods every day for several weeks.  Especially if I like those foods.  So once I decide what I’m eating it makes shopping, prepping and eating a no brainer.

So, why am I talking about diet today.  Well, because I’m “going on a diet!”  When I dropped 100+ pounds, the formula was simple.  I was so overweight that I just needed to eat less food and my body would feed off of itself…bye, bye fat!  I put on an excess 20 pounds or so during marathon training.  My own fault, I fully take ownership of my poor choices.  But now is the time to get it back off.  So I went back to doing what I know.  I reduced my calorie intake and fully expected to get the same results.  Unfortunately, my body has changed.  Whether I believe it or not, I have a lot more muscle mass on my body.  So my body has certain caloric requirements.  And if those requirements aren’t met, my body goes into preservation mode and stores everything I eat.  So even though I’m eating less my body is still storing all of it, thus no weight loss.  It’s a vicious cycle that just ends up ticking me off.

I finally reached out to my trainer and told him I was tired of beating my head against the wall and was willing to do what he told me in regards to my diet.  He’s offered before but I was too bull headed…hey, I lost 100 pounds, 20 should be a cake walk (mmm…cake…)!  He offered up a meal plan that he described as “not fun”.  I’m thinking this is going to be a bunch of food I don’t want to eat.  Turns out, it was basically what I was already eating, but in larger quantities, plus eliminating a few things I knew I shouldn’t be eating anyways.  Here is my meal plan:

Meal 1:  6-8 ounces ground meat of choice, 2 ounces almonds, any greens you like.

Meal 2:  Half an avocado, small bowl of sliced bell pepper, 1 serving of fruit.

Meal 3:  6-8 ounces lean meat, 2-3 ounces raw cashews, any greens you like.

Meal 4:  Half an avocado, 2 hard boiled eggs, 1 serving of fruit.

Meal 5:  8 -10 ounces meat, big ass bowl veggies.

Eat every 2.5-3 hours

2.5 gallons of water minimum. *I fought him on this and won, that’s just way too much water. He said I was the ONLY person he would allow to get away with this.  Hey, logic and science wins every time!  I’m usually between 100-150 ounces a day.

1 cheat meal every 7 days lasting no longer than 1 hour.

So here was this morning’s breakfast:

Image

Ground turkey burgers (recipe below), two cups broccoli and two ounces almonds.  Not your standard breakfast, but I think we’ve moved past standard anything any more.  Everything I do needs to be geared towards the results I want.

Turkey Burgers:

2.5 pounds ground 93/7 turkey

2 eggs

1/2 cup chopped baby portabella mushrooms

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

Salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients until thoroughly combined.  Make 10 patties and cook as you would normally cook a burger.  You can definitely play around with this recipe for your own taste.

Now, about that avocado…

Happy Running

Lonnie

4 thoughts on “It’s a noun, not a verb!

Leave a Reply

