Honoring a promise (ignoring the fine print)

If you’ve been following along with me at all over the last few months you know I’ve been sharing a lot about the virtual 5K that the running group I belong to was putting on.  The #SUB30V5K.  The main goal of this event was to raise money for The Wounded Warrior Project.

My buddy Andy from Running My Ass Off and I have both done a virtual 5K in the past.  He was a big help in doing the Hot Buns Run from earlier this year when I was doing Team in Training for the Portland Marathon.  When we started out on this new one we wanted to go bigger than we each had in the past.  Personally I wanted to hit 200 entries.  Andy proceeded to call me “batshit crazy”!  200 doesn’t seem like many entries compared to a normal race, but when you don’t have much of an existing base to work from and no real “name” behind your event, it can be difficult.  I knew 200 would be a tough, but realistic, goal.

Entering the final week of entries we were sitting at around 150 entries.  I knew we could still get there but we needed to create a buzz.  So I reached out to our running group, and for the first time told them about our goal.  I had always just said we wanted to do the best we could, but if we were going to hit this goal, I knew we all needed to be excited about it.  It didn’t take long for everyone to get on board with the excitement of reaching a goal they didn’t know we were trying to get to.  Most were already surprised at how well we had done.

A couple hours after sharing with everyone, my crazy idea wheel started turning.  I knew that 200 entries would put us close to a $2000 donation to WWP…but not quite get us there.  I checked with Andy (the numbers guy) and he said based on our estimates of expenses, we would need to get to 223 entries.  BINGO…our new target.  I told Andy that I had an idea to get everyone buzzing like we were but he had to agree to it before knowing what it was.  Even though he was reluctant, he agreed (silly, silly man…he knows me better!!)  I posted to our group that we were looking to reach $2000 for our donation and that we needed to hit 223 entries.  I told them that if we hit that mark, Andy and I would shave our heads.  Imagine Andy’s surprise when he read that along with everyone else…including my wife (sorry about that, honey!)  Needless to say, everyone was very excited at this.  I’m still not sure if it was about the huge donation or making us go bald.

Entries were coming in on a consistent basis.  160…170…180…190…  A nice consistent flow that started to trickle down as the hours ticked away.  By Friday, the final day of registration, we were just a couple short of 200.  I still had faith we could get to the original goal of 200 but was having serious doubts about 223.  In the evening we finally hit 200.  Then 201.  And finally took in the last entry of 202.  Andy and are were very excited about the final outcome as we knew 200 entries was a huge gain over either of our previous races.

But all was not lost.  A donor, who wished to remain anonymous, reached out to us.  They wanted to know how close we were to the $2000 goal.  We relayed our numbers to them and they came back saying they would make up the difference that we were missing.  This secured our $2000 donation to The Wounded Warrior Project.  I think if Andy and I had been in the same we would have hugged each other.

We hit our goal we had asked for.  Or did we?  We wanted to hit 223 entries so we could secure the $2000 donation.  We hit the monetary amount but not the entry number. So the question remains, what about the head shaving?!  I’ll let the photos below speak for themselves.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Personally, I kind of like it.  Kind of gives me that is he nice or psychotic look.  As for Andy?  I would suggest going over to his blog and asking him about it.

On a side note, I have not mentioned the beauty and most of the brains behind our event.  Allison Vitt has been an indispensable partner in this adventure!  She created both the shirt and bib for the race.  She is talented beyond words.  Andy are I are forever grateful to her for the work she did but also putting up with our Jr. High humor over the last few months.  We are looking forward to our next adventure together!

Happy Running

Lonnie

2 thoughts on “Honoring a promise (ignoring the fine print)

Leave a Reply

